Carmel Baked Apples

Standard

I told you last week I was going to be all about the apples this Fall.

I have had a tab with these apples open since June… ok, maybe not quite that long, but for a while. Anticipating.  And then… I made them for breakfast! I know, not the most traditional time to eat a gooey amazing baked apple but I think it works.  New trend alert!

The original recipe cut the apples a lot deeper for a “Blooming Onion” look.  I wanted mine to stay together a little more – or maybe I am just too lazy and lack the knife skills to pull the look off.  I’ll never tell.

Carmel Baked Apples

From The Gunny Sack

2 large apples (I used Granny Smith)

2 tbsp butter

3 tbsp brown sugar, packed

1 tbsp flour

1 tsp cinnamon

4 caramels

 

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cut off the top 1/4 or so of the apples.

Scoop out the core.  I could not find our mellon baller.  I was sure we had one.  It was green.  I have no idea where it is.  I used a spoon.  I think a mellon baller would have been easier. A spoon will work.

Carefully cut a deep circular cut around the inside of the apple, but make sure to not cut all the way through the apple.

Then flip the apple over and make several narrow cuts all the way around.  I didn’t understand this direction when I read it either.  Hopefully the pictures help some and when you make it it makes more sense too.

Place the apple in an oven-safe dish and fill the cored-out center with two caramels.

Heat the brown sugar and butter in the microwave for 30 seconds.  Stir and heat for 30 seconds more.  Yes, this will be a slightly alarming caramel-like mixture which you think will never clean out of your cup.  Happily it cleans our rather easily.  Do not be alarmed.

Mix in the flour and cinnamon.

Spread the mixture over the top of the apples, trying to get some down into all of your cuts.

Bake the apples for 35-40 minutes.  I checked mine at 30 and took them out at 35 but they probably could have gone the extra five minutes or maybe even a little more to be softer.  (Or maybe that is just a good excuse to make some more of these babies – I do have extra caramel lying around…)

Let the apples cool about 2-4 minutes and then eat, scooping up all the delicious cinnamon, butter, caramel wonderfulness with each apple slice.

A good breakfast is critical to a good day….

 

Carmel Baked Apples

2 large apples

2 tbsp butter

3 tbsp brown sugar, packed

1 tbsp flour

1 tsp cinnamon

4 caramels

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cut off the top 1/4 or so of the apples.

 

Scoop out the core then carefully cut a deep circular cut around the inside of the apple.  Make sure to not cut all the way through the apple.

Then flip the apple over and make several narrow cuts all the way around.

Place the apple in an oven-safe dish and fill the cored-out center with two caramels.

Heat the brown sugar and butter in the microwave for 30 seconds.  Stir and heat for 30 seconds more.  Mix in the flour and cinnamon.  Spread the mixture over the top of the apples, trying to get some down into all of your cuts.

Bake the apples for 35-40 minutes.

Let the apples cool about 2-4 minutes then serve.

Leave a Reply

