Rice Krispie Treats

Standard

When I was in college, living in the dorms, the kitchen situation was relativity dismal.  But we did have a good stove top and I began regularly to whip up Rice Krispie Treats!  Often I would throw in some M&Ms or whatever we could get at the little convenience store on campus.

I even made a large skillet (yes skillet, I had a very limited range of pots, pans, and dish ware so I used everything non-traditionally) of Rice Krispie Treats for one of my best friend’s birthday one year and stuck in some candles!

Trust me, homemade Rice Krispie Treats are so easy and so much better than the store bought thing!

I often halve the recipe for just my husband and me. I have no will power when it comes to not eating 3-4 of these in a sitting so making less, for me, is a good decision.  I hear, however, that they will keep for a week or so in air tight storage.  I have no firsthand experience with keeping them around that long myself.

 

Rice Krispie Treats

The recipe is on the back of every box of Rice Krispies I have ever seen…

3 tbsp butter (I love salted butter here – but sweet and salty totally works for me)

1 10 oz bag of marshmallows (regular sized, mini, those flat ones for s’mores – doesn’t matter… though I wouldn’t recommend using flavored ones)

6 cups Rice Krispie cereal

 

Grease an 8X8 pan, or – my favorite: a bread pan, within an inch of its life.  You can use a non-stick cooking spray (and I often do cause I’m lazy) but if you really want them to be over the top delicious, use a little bit of room temperature butter!

Melt the 3 tbsp butter in a lagre sauce pan.

Add in the marshmallows and stir until completely melted.  Some people like the chunky of marshmallow hidden in their bars – I am not one of those people.  Completely melted please!

Remove from heat and quickly stir in the six cups of cereal.

Scrape the sticky mess into the pre-greased pan and gently pat the cereal down.  Allow it to cool to room temperature (if you just can’t wait, you can pop the whole thing into the refrigerator for 30 minutes).

Slice into bars and enjoy!

 

Rice Krispie Treats

3 tbsp butter

1 10 oz bag of marshmallows

6 cups Rice Krispie cereal

 

Grease an 8X8 pan.

Melt the 3 tbsp butter in a large sauce pan. Add in the marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat and quickly stir in the six cups of cereal.  Pour into the pre-greased pan and gently pat the cereal down.  Allow it to cool to room temperature.

Leave a Reply

