Strawberry Jam with Mint and Black Pepper

Standard

This jam was the second recipe I put on my food blog back when I started it in law school.  And it is still a delicious jam.

My sister bought me a book on small batch canning and I had every intention of using this recipe to have delicious strawberry jam in January when all the strawberries are strip-mined hard things.

But I couldn’t for the life of me find either new jars or just new lids which would fit the jars I have.  Sometimes I miss not living in West Virginia where these things are easy to find.  And I got worried that the strawberries were on sale and abundant now… so I made it this weekend.  And just used my jars without preserving… so now I have a ton of delicious jam which much be consumed in three weeks…There are worse problems to have.

And maybe later this summer I will try my hand at a peach jam and can that one.

Strawberry Jam with Mint and Black Pepper

From Showfood Chef

This time I went for the black pepper.  I have gotten braver than when I made it before.  And the pepper does add something nice to the jam.

2 pounds strawberries

3 1/2 cups sugar

1 lemon (zest and juice)

8 – 12 fresh mint leaves, hand shredded

1/8 tsp fresh black pepper

 

Slice and hull your strawberries and put them into a non-reactive bowl.  Slice your strawberries according to how large you like the pieces of fruit in your jam.

Add in the sugar, lemon zest, and juice.  Stir well, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

The next day, bring the mixture to a boil in a large saucepan (it really should be larger than I used) stirring to dissolve all of the sugar. This should take about five minutes.

Once the mixture has reached a boil and the sugar is fully dissolved, strain out the fruit pieces and set aside.

Return the liquid, which now should be a beautiful red color, to the large pan and bring it back to a boil.

Cook until the mixture registers 221 degrees on a candy thermometer.

Return the fruit to the pot. Add in the mint and black pepper.  Bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes. Stir gently.

This is why you need a larger pot then I used – it is going to bubble up.

Pour the jam into clean jars and allow to cool.  The jam will thicken as it cools.  Or you know, do the whole water bath canning thing and enjoy the delicious strawberry flavor in January.

 

Strawberry Jam with Mint and Black Pepper

2 pounds strawberries

3 1/2 cups sugar

1 lemon (zest and juice)

8 – 12 fresh mint leaves, hand shredded

1/8 tsp fresh black pepper

 

Slice and hull your strawberries and put them into a non-reactive bowl.  Add in the sugar, lemon zest, and juice.  Stir well, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

The next day, bring the mixture to a boil in a large saucepan stirring to dissolve all of the sugar. This should take about five minutes.

Once the mixture has reached a boil and the sugar is fully dissolved, strain out the fruit pieces and set aside.

Return the liquid to the large pan and bring it back to a boil.  Cook until the mixture registers 221 degrees on a candy thermometer.

Return the fruit to the pot. Add in the mint and black pepper.  Bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes. Stir gently.

The jam will thicken as it cools.

Leave a Reply

