The Holidays

Standard

I am sitting in my mother’s kitchen this weekend. And it has been a wonderful holiday.  I’m always a little sad to see it end and real life kick back in.

But a part of me is also a little relieved and ready for the routine to come back.  My dad died of a brain aneurysm 13 years ago and, even though time has passed, it is always a little sad around the holidays.  My dad loved Santa Claus and Christmas.  He loved the holidays and the food. I make some of his recipes this time of year.  He was never very good at writing them down.  “Put in a pinch of this.  Enough of that.”  Not real big on the ‘cooking as science’ thing.  At this time of year, we tell more stories from my siblings and my childhoods.  I think about him more at the holidays and I smile, but it is also a little sad. As anyone who has lost a family member knows, every holiday, every big event in life, is now a mixture: joy mostly, but a little sad.

My sister, Kelsey, recently started her own non-profit effort, Apricity,  to benefit brain aneurysm research and survivors.  She has t-shirts, posters, and other cool products made by brain aneurysm survivors for you to buy.  The proceeds go to brain aneurysm research and to the survivors who created the artwork. It’s pretty cool and she is very inspiring to me.  She is an Americorps volunteer applying and interviewing for grad school and yet she still has the time, compassion, and guts to jump into running her own non-profit to honor our father and benefit others who suffer from this disease. Check it out…and donate!

Whether you are missing someone or not this holiday season, I hope you have a new year full of peace and joy.

See you next year.

Leave a Reply

