Cast Iron Pizza

Standard

I have been working on this one for a while.  Not that my husband is complaining; I have been making a lot of delicious pizza.  I just really wanted it to be right.  And delicious.  And replicable.

And I think I have it.

I have seen a lot of recipes making pizza in a cast iron skillets and I just had do so myself.  But none of them seemed quite what I was looking for.  Here is what I was looking for.  It’s like the best Pizza Hut pan pizza you have ever had but better.  Really!

Make it tomorrow, heck, make it for tonight if you have time.  And then tell me how yours turned out!

Cast Iron Pizza

1 pkg yeast

1 cup warm water

1 tsp sugar

2 cups flour

2 tsp salt

Olive oil for the pan

A good pizza sauce (I am still working my way through my frozen portions of The Best Ever Homemade Pizza Sauce)

Mozzarella cheese

Desired toppings (I used green olives, kalamata olives, and prosciutto – yes, I was very thirsty after this meal)

 

Mix together your yeast, water, and sugar, then leave them alone to proof.  You don’t have to use a separate bowl; I often don’t.  I just felt like being fancy this time.

Combine the salt and flour and add to a mixing bowl. Dig a well and add in the yeast/sugar mixture.  Stir well.  If needed add a little more water one tablespoon at a time until a soft dough forms.

Knead for 5 – 8 minutes.

Let the dough rise in the refrigerator for 8 hours to overnight.  I find this is a great dough to make in the morning and have ready when you get home from work.

Pour 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil into a large cast iron skillet and swirl so the oil covers the bottom evenly.

Removing the dough from the refrigerator, form it into a ball and place in the middle of the skillet.  Flip it over a few times to make sure the dough is covered in oil but end with the seam side down.

Gently flatten the ball and push the dough towards the edges.  It will not come close to reaching the edges now – that is fine.

Loosely cover the dough and leave it to rise in a warm place for 1 ½ – 2 hours.  The dough will look all deliciously puffed and will reach to the edges of your pan.

Pre-heat your oven as high as it can go.  Mine is 550 which works well.

Cover the dough with good pizza sauce, cheese, and toppings.  Now this is important; make sure you get them all the way to the edge.  No crust!!  Part of what makes this pizza so delicious is that the crust is caramelized cheese goodness. I also recommend putting the toppings underneath the cheese.  This will keep them from burning in the hot hot oven.

Bake the pizza for 15-20 minutes.  You need to watch yours better than I watched mine.  You want a few spots of the cheese to get brown and bubble but not to burn it.

And now, the absolute hardest part. Now your house smells like amazing pizza and the pizza is done and sizzling in the skillet, but you have to let it wait at least 5 minutes if not 10 before cutting into the pizza.  Trust me, that pizza is too hot to do otherwise.

But when you do cut into it and get your first bite… it is so so good!

Cast Iron Pizza

1 pkg yeast

1 cup warm water

1 tsp sugar

2 cups flour

2 tsp salt

Olive oil for the pan

pizza sauce

Mozzarella cheese

Desired toppings

 

Mix together the yeast, water, and sugar, let proof.

Combine the salt and flour and add to a mixing bowl. Dig a well and add in the yeast/sugar mixture.  Stir well.

Knead for 5 – 8 minutes.

Let the dough rise in the refrigerator for 8 hours to overnight.

Pour 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil into a large cast iron skillet.

Removing the dough from the refrigerator, form it into a ball and place in the middle of the skillet.  Flip it over a few times to make sure the dough is covered in oil.

Gently flatten the ball and push the dough towards the edges.  Loosely cover the dough and leave it to rise in a warm place for 1 ½ – 2 hours.

Pre-heat the oven to 550 degrees.

Cover the dough with good pizza sauce, cheese, and toppings.

Bake the pizza for 15-20 minutes. Wait at least 5-10 minutes before cutting.

Leave a Reply

