Apple Crisp

Standard

I know that the internet is awash with pumpkin recipes right now, but I am sticking to my favorite fall flavor: Apple!

My mother used to make fruit crisps and cobblers when we were small.  I always liked the crisps best, and yet this is the first time I can remember making one myself.

When I described an apple crisp to my husband before I made it I said, “it’s apples and cinnamon, oats, sugar, butter, nutmeg…”  “So basically everything good,” he replied.

And then you put vanilla ice cream on top.

Apple Crisp

From the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book

 

5 cups sliced apples (I used four apples, two honey crisp and two granny smith)

3 tbsp sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

 

For the topping

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup butter (room temp)

 

Vanilla ice cream

 

 

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Place the apples into a bowl (or just use the baking dish) and stir in the sugar and cinnamon.

In a medium bowl combine the oats, brown sugar, flour, nutmeg and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles wet sand.

Cover the apples with the topping and bake for 30 – 35 minutes.

Cool slightly and serve with a large scoop of ice cream.

Enjoy the sweet taste of fall!

(Many photos courtesy of my sister, Kelsey!)

 

Apple Crisp

5 cups sliced apples

3 tbsp sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

 

For the topping

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup butter

Vanilla ice cream

 

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Place the apples into a baking dish and stir in the sugar and cinnamon.

In a medium bowl combine the oats, brown sugar, flour, nutmeg and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles wet sand.

Cover the apples with the topping and bake for 30 – 35 minutes.

Cool slightly and serve with a large scoop of ice cream.

 

Leave a Reply

