Sherried Tomato Soup

Standard

If you have been following me for a while you have probably noticed that I am a fan of soups.  And as soon as I can even begin to imagine the weather might be turning a few degrees colder I am pulling out a soup pot and baking bread!

This tomato soup is delicious, creamy, and light enough for it to still be 70 degrees outside.  You can tell I was raised at a much higher altitude; it is crazy to me that here, in the double digits of October, we still have mostly green leaves and it is regularly mid-high 70s.  The weather is beautiful, don’t get me wrong, it is just not screaming October to me.

Even though I decorated. And there is a whole bag of fake spider webs just waiting for it to get a little closer to Halloween as well!.

Sherried Tomato Soup

From The Pioneer Woman Cooks

1 small onion, diced

3 tbsp butter

1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes

Approximately 23 ounces of tomato juice (half a 46-ounce can)

1-3 tbsp sugar (depending on how sweet you like your tomato soup)

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1/2 cup cooking sherry

1 cup heavy cream

2 tbsp parsley

chopped fresh basil to taste

black pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a large soup pot or dutch oven.  Cook the onions in the melted butter until translucent.

Add in the tomatoes

and the tomato juice.

Next add in your sugar.  Start with the low end and taste because some brands of caned tomatoes and juice have more acidity than others.  And also some people like their soup sweeter than others.  I only used 1 1/2 tbsp in mine but my husband doesn’t have much of a sweet tooth.

Add in your bullion cubes and a lot of black pepper.  Again to taste but you do want a good bit here.

Next add in the sherry and the cream and stir it well.

Finally add in the parsley. If you want to be fancy and use fresh flat leaf stuff go ahead. I use the dried stuff in my spice collection because whenever I buy fresh parsley I never use even close to all of it and it just rots in my refrigerator.  I am sure this is a moral failing on my part.

If you have some fresh basil add some in here as well.  If you don’t, skip it.  The dried stuff just isn’t the same here.

Let the soup simmer for about 10 – 15 minutes. Or you know, how long it takes you to whip up a delicious grilled cheese sandwich!

Serve, preferably with said grilled cheese sandwich and a pickle!

 

Sherried Tomato Soup

1 small onion, diced

3 tbsp butter

1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes

Approximately 23 ounces of tomato juice

1-3 tbsp sugar

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1/2 cup cooking sherry

1 cup heavy cream

2 tbsp parsley

chopped fresh basil to taste

black pepper to taste

 

Melt the butter in a large soup pot or dutch oven.  Cook the onions in the melted butter until translucent.

Add in the tomatoes and the tomato juice.

Next add desired amount of sugar, the bullion cubes and black pepper.

Stir in the sherry and the cream before finishing with the parsley.

Add in some fresh chopped basil, reserving some for garnishing.

Let the soup simmer for about 10 – 15 minutes.

One thought on “Sherried Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

