Fresh Tomato Pizza Sauce

Standard

I planted tomatoes this spring and, even with a slight case of the blight, I have tomatoes: beautiful red tomatoes grown by my own two hands! And the CSA my husband and I joined is also sending me beautiful tomatoes.

I have a lot of tomatoes right now.

Thus I am so glad that I found this recipe.  It is a truly delicious pizza sauce.  My husband, a die hard New York pizza snob, even said it tastes like a restaurant’s!   Plus it is really not that hard at all!  I always thought making a sauce from fresh tomatoes would be arduous but not this one!

I made a huge batch and have some in my freezer right now.  Just waiting for me to make another pizza.  And with me you know it won’t be long till that happens.

Best Ever Pizza Sauce

Adapted from My Every Day Musing

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp chopped onion

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp oregano

2-3 large fresh tomatoes (or you know 4 medium ones, or some combination there of.  I even throw in a couple cherry tomatoes when I have them around.  Though those things are a pain to blanch and peel!)

1 small can tomato paste

a pinch of sugar

a pinch of red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

a handful of fresh basil leaves roughly torn

First blanch your tomatoes.  This is actually much easier than it sounds all written out.  Boil a large pot of water.  Fill up a bowl (or I sometimes just use my kitchen sink) with ice water. Make a small cross shaped cut on the bottom of the tomatoes you want to blanch and peel.  Boil the tomatoes for 30 seconds then pop them into the ice water for 30 seconds.  That’s it.  That skin should come right off.  Easy peeled tomatoes.

Chop the peeled tomatoes into small pieces.  The smaller the pieces the smoother the finished sauce. If you want a chunky tomato sauce then go for a rough chop.

Heat the olive oil and butter in a pot.  Toss in the onion, garlic powder, oregano, and red pepper. Cook, stirring, for a few seconds.

Add in the fresh tomato, tomato paste, pinch of sugar, salt, pepper, and fresh basil.

Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and cook for 45 minutes.  Stir it every so often and mash the pieces of tomato against the side of the pot.

Remove from the heat and let the sauce cool completely.  Keep in mind that the sauce will thicken a bit as it cools.

It can be, of course, used as soon as it is cooled or refrigerated for up to a week. Or you can freeze it for a burst of fresh tomatoes when this glut is past and winter veggies are all we can see.

Fresh Tomato Pizza Sauce

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp chopped onion

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp oregano

2-3 large fresh tomatoes

1 small can tomato paste

a pinch of sugar

a pinch of red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to taste

a handful of fresh basil leaves roughly torn

Blanch and peel the tomatoes then chop into small pieces reserving the seeds and juice.

Heat the olive oil and butter in a pot.  Toss in the onion, garlic powder, oregano, and red pepper. Cook, stirring, for a few seconds.

Add in the fresh tomato, tomato paste, pinch of sugar, salt, pepper, and fresh basil.

Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and cook for 45 minutes, stirring it every so often.

Remove from the heat and let the sauce cool completely.

 

One thought on “Fresh Tomato Pizza Sauce

Leave a Reply

