Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Standard

So I have an announcement.  Oooo exciting!  Yesterday I was sworn in as an AmeriCorps Vista.  I am going to be spending the next year working with an inaugural Vista program helping build services and training for Holocaust survivors. This coming Tuesday is my first day on the job.  As I am sure you can guess, I’m excited, nervous, and trying out a bunch of different outfits to figure out what is the best.  Pretty normal I think.

And of course you know I’m baking something to celebrate.

Have you ever really wanted a chocolate chip cookie in cake form?  If you haven’t then you are missing out, because that is what these are, but also so so much more.  Buttery and soft and chocolatey… I found myself eating two a day! And, true confession, I ran out of icing before I ran out of cakes and I found I liked the un-iced ones better.  Simple and delicious cake.

Though I used the Chocolate Sour Cream icing and it was very good on these cakes.  I will never criticize you for wanting to go decadent!

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

From Baking Style by Lisa Yockelson

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup cake flour (I used both flours because I had some… )

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 cups miniature chocolate chips (if you happen to have a half-used bag and feel like adding more… well… let’s just say I have set a strong precedent for that sort of behavior)

2 sticks butter, softened (And use the best quality you can get.  Trust me.)

2 cups sugar

4 large eggs

2 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup plus 1 tbsp half-and-half

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line two muffin tins (or, if you prefer, this also makes a lovely cake in a Bundt pan).

Mix the flours, baking powder, and salt.

Add about a tbsp of the flour mixture to the chocolate chips and toss to coat.  I left my chips in the bag and just shook it.  This will help the chips distribute through the batter and not all sink to the bottom.

Cream the butter in a standing mixer or with a hand-held beater.  Add in the sugar.  Since it is a… hmmm… healthy amount of sugar, I found doing this in two stages made the mixing easier.

Beat in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla.  Blend well.

Starting with the dry ingredients, alternately add in the flours and the half-and-half in three additions.  So half the dry flour mixture, beat well, add in the half-and-half, beat well, then finish with the rest of the dry ingredients.

Fold in the chocolate chips.

Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins or a greased bundt pan.

Bake 20-25 minutes for the cupcakes and 55-60 minutes for the bundt cake.  They should be well risen and a toothpick should come out with only delicious melted chocolate from any chips it happens to spear on it.

Allow to cool and then either ice with a delicious frosting (such as) or dust with a little powdered sugar.

I have heard they will keep for up to a week in an airtight storage container, but mine did not last long enough to test that claim.

 

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup cake flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 cups miniature chocolate chips

2 sticks butter, softened

2 cups sugar

4 large eggs

2 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup plus 1 tbsp half-and-half

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line two muffin tins.

Mix the flours, baking powder, and salt.Add about a tbsp of the flour mixture to the chocolate chips and toss to coat.

Cream the butter in a standing mixer or with a hand-held beater.  Add in the sugar.

Beat in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla.  Blend well.

Starting with the dry ingredients, alternately add in the flours and the half-and-half in three additions.

Fold in the chocolate chips.

Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins.

Bake 20-25 minutes until well risen and a tooth pick comes out clean.

Allow to cool and then either ice or dust with a little powdered sugar.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

  1. Martha Ognibene

    Dear Adie, Two things: 1) ooooo Fancy Chocolate Chips!! 2) Wow–professional-looking piped icing!! You the man…ummmmm, woman!

Leave a Reply

