Fridge Dill Pickles

Standard

So I really really like the CSA we have joined!  It is a lot of fun and I do think we are eating healthier, or at least more veggies. But something happened about two weeks ago. I looked around my kitchen and realized that I had eight cucumbers.  Eight!

Now don’t get me wrong, I like cucumbers.  I enjoy them a lot but I had no idea what to do with eight cucumbers.

Luckily the Smitten Kitchen blog came to my rescue.  Apparently I am not the only one drowning in cucumbers this summer.  So what can we do with cucumbers… make pickles!

I have never made homemade pickles before.  I was actually a little afraid of making them.  But these were super-easy and turned out very very tasty.

Be brave, give them a try.  Don’t let the cucumbers take over your kitchen too!

Fridge Dill Pickles

From Smitten Kitchen

8 – 10 firm cucumbers (pickling cucumbers like Kirby are best… I used whatever I had, it worked well)

3 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp dill seeds

1/2 cup white vinegar

Thinly slice your cucumbers.  If you’ve got a mandolin this would be a good time to break it out.  I don’t have one, I have a knife!

Place the cucumber slices in a roughly 1-liter jar with a tight lid.

Add in the salt, dill seeds, and white vinegar.

Close the jar tightly and give it a few shakes.

This will look like too little brine.  It will look like too little brine for a while.  It will be ok.  I promise.

But the jar in the refrigerator, making sure it is very easily visible.  You want to shake it a few times a day for the next couple days.  I tend to shake it whenever I am at the fridge.

They will be good in about 4 days, very good in 1 week, and excellent in 10 days!

Mmmmm pickles.  I really really do need to learn to can.

 

Fridge Dill Pickles

8 – 10 firm cucumbers

3 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp dill seeds

1/2 cup white vinegar

Thinly slice your cucumbers and place the slices in a roughly 1-liter jar with a tight lid.

Add in the salt, dill seeds, and white vinegar.

Close the jar tightly and give it a few shakes.

But the jar in the refrigerator and shake it a few times a day for the next couple days

They will be good in about 4 days, very good in 1 week, and excellent in 10 days.

Leave a Reply

