Cherry Lime Curd

Standard

I love fresh cherry season.

Pitting fresh cherries is another issue entirely.  My mother has an amazing cherry pitter  which I kinda wish I had… hmmm… liberated… when I moved out but alas I didn’t. (Oh hi Mom!) I think the tedium of pitting cherries is why, for all I love them, I rarely make cherry pies, or cherry filled cookies, or other delicious cherry baked goods.  However I made an exception this time.

And it was so worth it.

This is a delicious tart, but not too tart, cherry spread that is begging to be put on fresh baked biscuits or bread.

And it was surprisingly easy to make.  I really need to learn to can, then I could eat this delicious cherry spread all year round!

Cherry Lime Curd

From  Created by Diane

1 cup fresh cherries pitted and cut in half

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup lime juice (I meant to squeeze fresh lime juice here.  I really did.  But after all the cherry pitting and slicing I just didn’t have it in me.  I used the bottled stuff.  It came out delicious.)

3 egg yolks

4 tbsp butter

In a large saucepan combine the lime juice, cherries, and sugar.  Put on medium high heat and bring to a boil.

Let the mixture boil for 2 minutes.  (This is why you need the large saucepan; it will bubble up and you do not want this mixture to boil over.  If it looks close to boiling over go ahead and give it a stir.)

Strain the mixture with the finest strainer you’ve got.  Press down on all the cherries and work out the fruit pulp until only the skins remain. Discard the skins.

Back in a saucepan, whisk the egg yolks and slowly add in the cherry mixture.

Return the mixture to heat and add in the butter.  Whisk until all of the butter is melted.

Continue to cook until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.  This will take a surprisingly long time if you are impatient like me.  About 10 minutes.  It will continue to thicken while cooling.

Remove the curd from the heat and pour into an airtight container to cool.  It will keep for three weeks in the fridge.

Mine did not last that long, however.

Cherry Lime Curd

1 cup fresh cherries pitted and cut in half

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup lime juice

3 egg yolks

4 tbsp butter

In a large saucepan combine the lime juice, cherries, and sugar.  Put on medium high heat and bring to a boil.  Let the mixture boil for 2 minutes.

Strain the mixture with the finest strainer you’ve got. Discard the skins.

Back in a saucepan, whisk the egg yolks and slowly add in the cherry mixture.

Return the mixture to heat and add in the butter.  Whisk until all of the butter is melted.

Continue to cook until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon, about 10 minutes.

Remove the curd from the heat and pour into an airtight container to cool.  It will keep for three weeks in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

